Constitution, Powers, and Jurisdiction

The constitution, powers, and jurisdiction of the Committee of the Council are outlined in Statute 12.6 in the Articles of Incorporation, Bylaws and Statutes of the University of Chicago.

Statute 12.6 The Committee of the Council

12.6.1. Constitution. The Committee of the Council shall consist of seven members of the Council chosen annually by the Council by the Hare System of Proportional Representation. Deans shall not be eligible for election to the Committee. Members of the Committee shall be eligible for re-election provided they are members of the Council. The President and the Provost of the University shall be members of the Committee, without vote, and shall be Chairman and Vice-Chairman, respectively. Vacancies in the elected membership shall be filled as provided by the Council. The Committee shall elect a spokesperson who shall be the channel of communication between the Committee and the Council.

12.6.2. Powers. The Committee may concern itself with all matters of educational policy within the jurisdiction of the Council. All matters to be presented to the Council for action shall first be laid before the Committee, which shall report its opinion upon them to the Council through its spokesperson. At the Committee’s request it may meet with the appropriate committee of the Board of Trustees.

12.6.3. Meetings. The Committee shall meet every two weeks during the Autumn, Winter, and Spring Quarters, or oftener at the call of the President or of such proportion of its membership as it shall determine.

12.6.4. The President shall keep the Committee informed as far as practicable on all matters of general University interest.

12.6.5. Subcommittees of the Committee of the Council shall be appointed by the President in consultation with the spokesperson.